AMIT AGARWAL has joined the law firm Holland & Knight. Agarwal is a former Florida solicitor general.

VIRGINIA COVINGTON, BARBARA NICKLAUS AND BEVERLY WHITE YEAGER have been named by Gov. Ron DeSantis to the Florida Women’s Hall of Fame. Covington, of Tampa, is a senior U.S. district judge for the Middle District of Florida. Nicklaus, of North Palm Beach, is chair and co-Founder of the Nicklaus Children’s Health Care Foundation. White Yeager, of Palm Beach, is a former director of the Florida Department of State’s Cultural Affairs Division.

NARENDRA DEREDDY has been appointed by state Chief Financial Officer Jimmy Patronis to the Florida Birth-Related Neurological Injury Compensation Association Board of Directors. Dereddy, a physician, is medical director for the neonatal intensive care unit, medical director for care transformation and medical director of neonatology at AdventHealth.

SHEVRIN JONES has been nominated by President Joe Biden and Democratic National Committee Chairman Jaime Harrison as an at-large member of the Democratic National Committee. Jones, D-West Park, represents District 35 in the Florida Senate.

ALEXANDRA “ALEX” OJEDA has been named state director for U.S. Sen. Rick Scott, R-Fla. Ojeda most recently worked as counsel for public affairs for Florida Attorney General Ashley Moody.

LOURDES DIAZ has been named senior adviser for Hispanic outreach and media for Democratic gubernatorial candidate Charlie Crist’s campaign. Diaz experience includes working on the campaigns of President Joe Biden and former President Barack Obama.

CARRIE LEE, EMERY GAINEY, LISA PREVATT AND ROBERT WOODY have been appointed by Gov. Ron DeSantis to the Santa Fe College Board of Trustees. Lee, of Alachua, is president and owner of Florida Blue Farms. Gainey, of Gainesville, is a former Marion County sheriff. Prevatt, of Hampton, is principal of Lawtey Elementary School in Bradford County. Woody, of Gainesville, is a former director of the Alachua County Jail.

MICHAEL FULLER, TAYLOR COLLINS AND DOMINIC DIMAIO have been appointed by Gov. Ron DeSantis to the State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota Board of Trustees. Fuller, of Bradenton, is a financial adviser and managing partner of Weichel Fuller Financial. Collins, of Sarasota, is president of Benefits & Planning, Inc. DiMaio, of Lakewood Ranch, is president and chief executive officer of the Lakewood Ranch Business Alliance.

CARLOS MARTINEZ, CHRISTOPHER GROOM, JON SMOAK AND MARTIN MCKENNA have been appointed by Gov. Ron DeSantis to the Florida Citrus Commission. Martinez, of Orlando, is procurement manager for The Coca-Cola Company. Groom, of Orlando, is chief operating officer for Florida’s Natural Growers. Smoak, of Lake Placid, is chief executive officer of Smoak Groves, Inc. McKenna, of Sebring, is president and owner of McKenna and Associates Citrus, Inc.

STEVE JOHNSON, DANIEL SUTTON AND WILLIAM POULTON have been appointed by Gov. Ron DeSantis to the Florida Citrus Commission. Johnson, of Wauchula, is president and owner of Johnson Citrus Harvesting. Sutton, of LaBelle, is president and general manager of Alico, Inc. Poulton, of Bradenton, is senior director of global procurement for Tropicana Products, Inc.

--- Got a new chief of staff, executive director, campaign manager, press secretary, spokesperson or otherwise important new person in your office or organization? The News Service welcomes personnel announcements, which are aggregated for periodic publication. Please send announcements to and include contact information.